Recap of my travels in 2016

Just to refresh my ailing memory, let me admire my Facebook pictures to get a sense of the places that I’ve been in 2016.

Alright. Here it goes…

21 European Cities in 2 months plus…

Maldives, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia.

And I had a major 3 weeks adventure in China which I will blog about in future.

Most of the time, I don’t plan my trip. I prefer it to be raw and spontaneous. And yes. I travel alone most of the time. It makes things less complicated…but that being said, I tend to ‘pick up’ friends along the way.

Here’s my top 3 favorite photos from these countries. I hope you like them too!

Maldives (4 days, Lovely Sunsets and Watersports)

-Rode a Jet ski for the 1st time

-Snorkeled for the 1st time; saw turtles, sharks, Nemo and many exotic fishes

maldives
Souvenir from the Immigration Authority
maldives3
Lovely Sunset
maldives4
View from the top

 

Sri Lanka (2 days, Nice beaches, cheap food and accommodation)

-Motorbiked all around town, finding beaches with awesome sunsets

sl
Huge waves crashing
sl3
Met a fellow traveler, HJ

 

sl2
Crazy traffic

 

Cambodia (6 days, Ancient temples, cheap food & nightlife)

-Hotel stay was worth spending cos it was so affordable

-Overdosed on watermelon and coconut juice

cam2
Sunrise at Angkor Wat
cam3
Royal Palace in Phnom Penh
cam4
Private pool in Sihanoukville

 

Malaysia (Penang for the Street Art and Air tix was freaking cheap, yummy food as well)

-Went Street Art hunting and gorged on local cuisine. Quite similar to Singapore’s but 3 times less expensive

ms3
Typical Shophouses in George Town
ms2
Newer Street Comic Art
ms
The Iconic work by Ernest Zacharevic – ‘Little Children on a Bicycle’

 

Phuket (Beach town, yummy & cheap street food, exotic nightlife)

-Finally got to experience ‘what the hype’ is about Phuket.

-Saw stuff that I shouldn’t talk about

-Went island hopping and got to snorkel abit

-Got a little seasick and threw up for the very first time in ages

phu
Chillin with a Chang
phu2
Crab on a stick
phu3
View from Nakkerd Hills

 

Indonesia (Awesome Gili Islands, beautiful beaches, lovely Ubud and Yummy Bali)

-Learnt to ride a motorbike in 15min and d*mn proud of it

-Tour of the Padi fields (Rice Terraces) and Amazing Waterfalls

-Ate at countless Warungs (small local eateries) and totally loved it

ind
Scaling a Waterfall
ind2
Monkey Temple in Ubud
ind3
Iconic swing at Gili Trawangan

 

I’ll blog more about each individual trip when I have the time.

xoxo,

AT.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

